Skip navigation

Autumn 2021 concerts

Timeless myths


  • con. Tomas Djupsjöbacka
  • sol. Cecilia Zilliacus, violin | Torleif Thedéen, cello

In cooperation with Korsholm Music Festival

Siri Brander: Elegie, (arr. A. E. Westerlind) | Mats Larsson Gothe: Concerto for violin, cello and orchestra ”Sisyfos drömmar” Jean Sibelius: Symphony No 3


The magic of melody

THU 16.9. at 19.00 VAASA CITY CHURCH

  • con. Jan Söderblom
  • sol. Pontus Grans, double bass

Astor Piazzolla: Tangazo | Nino Rota: Divertimento Concertante | Francis Poulenc: Sinfonietta


Echoes from the past

FRI 24.9. at 19.00 VAASA CITY CHURCH

  • con. Aliisa Neige Barrière
  • sol. Tommi Hyytinen, natural horn
  • natural horn obligato, Miska Miettunen

Jean-Féry Rebel: Chaos, from Les Élémens | Olli Virtaperko: Moiré, concerto for natural horn and orchestra “20” World premiere with modern instruments | Louise Farrenc: Symphony No 2


Time travel

THU 30.9. at 19.00 VAASA CITY CHURCH

FRI  1.10. at 19.00 LAKEUDEN RISTI, Seinäjoki

Vaasa & Seinäjoki City Orchestras

  • con. Tomas Djupsjöbacka
  • sol. Pétur Sakari, organ

William Byrd: Two Motets, (arr. Nico Muhly) | Johannes Brahms: Haydn variations | Johann Sebastian Bach: Ricercar a 3, from Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079 (arr. JP Lehto) | Francis Poulenc: Organ Concerto


In the spirit of revolution

THU 7.10. at 19.00 VAASA CITY CHURCH

  • con. Taavi Oramo
  • sol. Karin Lovelius, mezzo-soprano

Andrea Tarrodi: Camelopardalis | Alma Mahler: Lauluja (arr. Jorma Panula) | Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No 3 “Eroica” 


Everyone plays!

SAT 16.10 at 15.00 – the concert is free of charge

Onkilahden yhtenäiskoulu V-building’s sports hall

Vaasa City Orchestra & Kuula Institute’s Näppäri course students

  • con. Mauno Järvelä


Winner’s debut

THU 21.10. at 19.00 LAIHIA CHURCH

  • con. Tarmo Peltokoski
  • sol. Jonathan Leibovici, clarinet 

Franz Schubert: Symphony No 1 | Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Clarinet Concerto


Merry pranks

THU 28.10 at 19.00 VAASA CITY CHURCH

  • con. Tomas Djupsjöbacka
  • sol. Eero Saunamäki, recorder

Joseph Haydn: Symphony No 103 | Jukka Tiensuu: Concerto for recorder and orchestra | Richard Strauss: Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, “16” (arr. George Morton, world premiere of the arrangement)



* we reserve the right for changes*