Skip navigation

Time travel

THU 30.9.2021 at 19.00 VAASA CHURCH

Vaasa City Orchestra & Seinäjoki City Orchestra
con. Tomas Djupsjöbacka
sol. Pétur Sakari, organ

William Byrd: Two Motets (arr. Nico Muhly 2007)

Johannes Brahms: Haydn variations

Johann Sebastian Bach: Ricercar a 3, from Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079 (arr. JP Lehto) 

Francis Poulenc: Organ concerto


Composers engage in dialogue over the eras. The young and urban American composer Nico Muhly is inspired by the Renaissance motets of William Byrd, and the Finnish Jukka-Pekka Lehto by Bach’s fugue themes. Brahms’ Haydn variations are a case apart – they do not have much to do with Haydn! The orchestras of Vaasa and Seinäjoki will get to play together for the first time in a long time, and the internationally distinguished young Pétur Sakari will be the soloist of Francis Poulenc’s organ concerto.


Prices for concert in Vaasa

29 € Basic ticket
25 € Pensioners, unemployed, Vaasa city employees
10 € Students, children

* we reserve the right for changes*