Skip navigation

Diamonds from Ashes

THU 26.1.2023 at 19.00 VAASA CITY HALL

Chamber music concert

Benjamin Britten (1913–1976) Phantasy Quartet op. 2 (1932)

Panu Sivonen, oboe; Leenakaisa Sandberg, violin; Viktor Olaus Nygård, viola; Elena Hämäläinen, cello

Arthur Lourié (1892–1966): Sonata (1924, exposition)

  • Allegro moderato
  • Cadenza
  • Final: Presto

Liisa Makkonen, violin; Pontus Grans, double bass

Sergei Prokofjev (1891–1953): Quintet op. 39 (1924)

  • Tema con variazioni: Moderato
  • Andante energico
  • Allegro sostenuto, ma con brio
  • Adagio pesante
  • Allegro precipitato, ma non troppo presto
  • Andantino

Panu Sivonen, oboe; Eneko Iriarte Velasco, clarinet; Maano Männi, violin; Viktor Olaus Nygård, viola; Pontus Grans, double bass


The orchestra’s concert season begins with a chamber music concert reminiscing a faraway Europe recovering from war a century ago. What events took place in the international music scene at the same time as Leevi Madetoja wrote his opera, The Ostrobothnians, that is also performed at Vaasa Opera in the beginning of the year?

Ukrainian-born Sergei Prokofiev had escaped the Russian Revolution, and soon also Arthur Lourié joined the Russian refugees. Both composers lived in 1920s Paris, where Prokofiev wrote his circus-inspired Quintet Op. 39 and Lourié his Sonata for Violin and Double Bass. On the other side of the Channel, in Britain, a new musical talent was already growing up. Benjamin Britten’s Phantasy Quartet for Oboe and Strings was a steppingstone that propelled him to fame and started a composing career that spanned almost half a century. 


19 € Basic ticket
15 € Pensioners, unemployed, Vaasa city employees
5 € Students, children


* We reserve the right for changes *