Skip navigation
Lapsia koulussa

Basic education

Basic education is free of charge. There are 14 Finnish language and 5 Swedish language basic schools where basic education is arranged in the city of Vaasa. Furthermore, there are a few private schools; Vaasan kristillinen koulu and Vaasan Rudolf Steiner-koulu as well as a state-run school, Vasa Övningsskola in the City.

Compulsory education applies to children who are permanent residents in Finland in the year in which they turn seven years old.

Compulsory education ends when the children have completed the basic education syllabus or ten years have passed since they started in compulsory education. The period of compulsory education may be extended due to a disability or illness.

Adults may complete the basic education syllabus for example at Vaasa opisto or Vasa Arbis.

  • Support for learning and schooling reinforces education, healthy growth and development, so that the basic education can be completed.

  • Special educational line means that one learning area is emphasized, eg. music or languages.

Contact us

Administration of Basic Education

Opening hours

  • 9-15

Basic education in Finnish

Head of education department Kari Nummela p. 06 325 3206 / 040 754 7702, kari.nummela@edu.vaasa.fi

Principal Johanna Olsson  040 510 0717, johanna.olsson@edu.vaasa.fi

Principal Jyrki Jokinen  040 756 8618, jyrki.jokinen@edu.vaasa.fi

Coordinator of pupils from different linguistic and cultural backgrounds, Markku Nirkkonen 040 542 3240, markku.nirkkonen@edu.vaasa.fi

Basic education in Swedish

Head of education department, Marianne West p. 06 325 3152 / 040 777 3225, marianne.west@vaasa.fi

Morning- and afternoon activities

apip@edu.vaasa.fi

Secretary services

Administrative secretary Therése Kangas p. 06 325 3202 / 040 647 5611, therese.kangas@vaasa.fi

Administrative secretary Saija-Riikka Hassel 06 325 3122 / 040 520 4516, saija-riikka.hassel@vaasa.fi