Skip navigation

Sibelius Sketches

FRE 3.11.2023 at 19.00 VAASA CITY HALL
Vaasa City Orchestra
dir. Tomas Djupsjöbacka
Nicke Lignell, narrator

  • Jean Sibelius: Parts of music for “The Tempest”, Op. 109
  • Jean Sibelius: Three fragments from Symphony No. 8
  • Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 4 in A minor, Op. 63

Creativity, experience, and self-criticism were in good balance in Jean Sibelius’s music in the mid-1920s, and it is from this period that his compositions are in many respects his most complete, before self-criticism took over and led to Ainola’s long silence. We will hear the ominous, even psychological Fourth Symphony and a selection of music composed for William Shakespeare’s play The Tempest, with actor Nicke Lignell as a masterly bilingual narrator.

For a long time, one could only guess what Sibelius’ 8th Symphony, worked on almost endlessly and finally burnt in Ainola’s fireplace, would have sounded like. However, an important discovery of three sketches was made some time ago in the archives of the National Library’s large Sibelius collection. Coinciding with the time of the 8th Symphony’s composition, these sketches have been assembled into three fragments that show that Sibelius was on the verge of a new and interesting style.

  • Meet and Greet: Tomas & Nicke

30 € Normal price
25 € Pensioners, unemployed, employees of the city of Vaasa
10 € Students, children


* We reserve the right for changes*