Skip navigation

Sound and Fury

SAT 11.2.2023 at 15.00 VAASA CITY HALL

Vaasa City Orchestra
cond. Tomas Djupsjöbacka
sol. Maria Włoszczowska, violin

  • Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 60 in C major, “Il Distratto 
  • Anna Clyne: Sound and Fury  
  • Felix Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 

Anna Clyne from Britain is one of the foremost contemporary composers and unafraid to combine different emotional states and seek inspiration from great composers of the past. Clyne’s Sound and Fury immerses itself in the language and rhythm of William Shakespeare’s tragic Macbeth, but also borrows elements from Joseph Haydn’s humoristic Il Distratto symphony – a comedy about an absurdly absentminded man!

In February, the audience receives a hefty dose of Felix Mendelssohn’s sparkly music, beginning with a beloved violin concerto. The concerto is performed by Polish violinist Maria Włoszczowska, who is a highly versatile and vibrant musician, similar to our chief conductor Tomas Djupsjöbacka.


30 € Basic ticket
25 € Pensioners, unemployed, Vaasa city employees
10 € Students, children


* We reserve the right for changes *