Skip navigation

Spring Symphony

FRI 21.4.2023 at 19.00 VAASA CITY HALL

Vaasa and Seinäjoki City Orchestras
In cooperation with Korsholm Music Festival

cond. Henri Sigfridsson
sol. Jan-Erik Gustafsson, cello

  • Lili Boulanger (arr. Iain Farrington): D’un matin de printemps, ‘5
  • Cecilia Damström: Infirmus, ‘7
  • Camille Saint-Saëns: Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, ’20
  • Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 1 in B-flat major, “Spring”, ’32

Jan-Erik Gustafsson has become a familiar cellist for the audience in Vaasa over the years, but now – as nature once again awakens after the winter – he takes on a new role as the artistic director of Korsholm Music Festival. In a concert embodying the joy of spring, Gustafsson performs Camille Saint-Saëns’s first cello concerto, which promises both dramatic gales and delightfully serene sailing.

Henri Sigfridsson, the previous artistic director of Korsholm Music Festival and recognized piano virtuoso, will function as the conductor. Sigfridsson’s interpretations of Lili Boulanger’s and Robert Schumann’s pieces celebrating spring overflow with the energy of lengthening days. 


30 € Basic ticket
25 € Pensioners, unemployed, Vaasa city employees
10 € Students, children


* We reserve the right for changes *