Skip navigation

The Land of Opportunity

SAT 1.4.2022 at 15.00 VAASA CITY HALL

Vaasa City Orchestra
cond. Tomas Djupsjöbacka
sol. Eneko Iriarte Velasco, clarinet

  • Jessie Montgomery: Overture, ‘5
  • Aaron Copland: Clarinet Concerto, ’18
  • Antonín Dvořák (arr. Iain Farrington): Symphony No. 9 in E minor, “From the New World”, ’39

New York, that mythical metropolis and unparalleled cultural crossroads, connects the composers and pieces of this concert.

Jessie Montgomery, barefooted Manhattan, possesses an urban tonal language that brings together the city’s different musical genres into an energetic concoction. The most American of all American composers, Aaron Copland, wrote his Clarinet Concerto to the King of Swing himself, Benny Goodman. The orchestra’s own clarinet charmer, Eneko Iriarte, excels as the soloist. Czech Antonín Dvořák discovered the ethnically rich musical legacy of the United States in late 19th century New York and combined it with his own Bohemian melodic language in an unrivalled way. 


30 € Basic ticket
25 € Pensioners, unemployed, Vaasa city employees
10 € Students, children


* We reserve the right for changes *